Appetizers

Yummy Simple Queso Dip

screen-shot-2016-10-16-at-9-26-07-am(photo credit kraft)

I made this Queso dip over the weekend with some friends. I had been reminiscing about my winters spent in Florida, showing my horse in years past. My friends and I would often meet up for dinner at a local Mexican cantina on a Friday night and dish about the week’s events. This comfort food reminds me of good times spent with great friends.

This is the first time I have made this myself. I did some research online for inspiration and then decided to freestyle it and add my own flair. It turned out great and was gone in minutes. This was simple and quick to make!

IMG_8407.jpg

INGREDIENTS:

1 package of Philadelphia cream cheese 250g

2 cups of grated sharp cheddar

1/2 cup of salsa (I used Garden Fresh but you can use any salsa!)

1/4 cup of 10% cream

COOKING METHOD:

In a medium saucepan over medium heat, combine cream cheese and sharp cheddar. When the mixture becomes hot and bubbly, mix in cream and salsa. Continue stirring until all ingredients melted and mixture begins to thicken, about 10 minutes. Serve piping hot (I like to use my Little Dipper crock pot to keep it hot and delicious for all my guests!).

IMG_8410 (1).jpg

The finished product, served with tortilla chips. This will always be a crowed pleaser with your guests, because really who does’t love cheese!

Here are the recipes I got my inspiration from!

http://allrecipes.com/recipe/84980/mexican-white-cheese-dipsauce/

http://www.thecookierookie.com/easy-restaurant-style-white-queso/

http://www.chowhound.com/recipes/texas-queso-dip-11365

Leave a comment